Club President Steve Whalley.
2020 - 2023
Dear <<First Name>>

Astbury Golf Clubs President Steve Whalley has the clubs DNA locked into his genes. Steve joined Astbury as a junior 57 years ago, following in the footsteps of his mother and father (Sylvia and Ray) producing a Whalley dynasty at the club, the family holding at one time or another every high office available. As you would expect Steve is very proud of the way that Astbury Golf Club has grown over the last 100 years and and he and his family continue to support the club as it endeavours to become even better. Thanking the clubs staff with a special mention for Andy Brougham the Head Greenkeeper and his team for continuously presenting the golf course in such an amazing condition was an important part of his after dinner speech. He was also very grateful for the work done by so many members who take on unpaid roles by becoming Directors and helpers and for giving so freely of their time.

The Presidents weekend is one of the highlights of the clubs golfing calendar with all sections participating, and the 280 plus members who played over the three days did really well despite a strong wind that kept things interesting. The outstanding player of the moment is Adam Frost who won the Captains Prize last weekend and this weekend collected the Presidents Prize. Adam is believed to be the first member in the clubs 100 year history to hold both trophies at the same time. There has been a price to pay as Adam's handicap has fallen from 11 to 5 within just seven days. A great achievement.

Seniors (Friday July 1st) Stableford competition.
 Winner – Ken Hyland  (Hcp 15 ... 36 points)
Runner up – Harry Rogerson (Hcp 23... 36 points)
3rd place – Ian Townsend (Hcp 23 ... 35 points)
Over 75s – Eric Porter (Hcp 19 ... 35 points)
Nearest the pin #4 – Cliff Bossons
Nearest the pin (in two)  #13 – Doug Allan
 Juniors (Saturday July 2nd) Stableford Competition
 Winner – Theo Wright (Hcp 22 ... 42 points)
Runner up – Cieran Barber (Hcp 22 ... 37 points)
 9 hole competition
Winner – Max Porter (Hcp 28 ... 19 points)
 Men (Sunday July 3rd)  Stableford Competition
 Presidents’ prize - Adam Frost (Hcp 9 ... 41 points)
 Div 1 Winner – Simon Machin (Hcp 10 ... 38 points)
Div 1 runner up – David Holt (Hcp 3 ... 36 points)
 Div 2 Winner – Peter Willans (Hcp 13 ... 40 points)
Div 2 runner up – Robert Alcock (Hcp 13 ... 39 points)
 Div 3 winner – David Cockerill (Hcp 15 ... 37 points)
Div 3 runner up – Stephen Kelly (Hcp 23 ... 36 points )
 Nearest the pin #4 – Chris Clarke
Nearest the pin #11 – Paul Scott
Longest drive #17 – Adam Cockerill
The Presidents Guests.
Hot of the press, 100 years of Astbury history
A fascinating history  of Astbury Golf Club from inception until today.
Copies available from clubhouse bar.
£5 with all profits going to the Centenary Fund.
Copyright © 2022 Astbury Golf Club, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp