Copy
To open in a new page click here

UN Environment / UNDP / WRI GCF Readiness Programme Newsletter July 2017

This quarterly newsletter highlights country level and programme wide achievements. This issue we focus on the latest news from El Salvador, the Philippines, Kenya and Nepal, as well as a look at national entities applying for direct access to the GCF. We welcome your feedback on the kinds of stories and information you'd like to receive in future issues. Please enjoy!
Nine national entities apply for direct access to the GCF
In addition to supporting National Designated Authorities in the nine participating countries of the UN Environment/UNDP/WRI Green Climate Fund Readiness Programme, the Governments also requested support for direct access to the GCF, through the accreditation of qualified national direct access entities (DAEs).
 
Nepal accelerates effective engagement with Green Climate Fund 
 
Maintaining a steady momentum on its path towards climate readiness, the National Designated Authority (NDA) of Nepal- the Ministry of Finance- has led significant efforts to effectively engage with the Green Climate Fund, with the support of the UN Environment/ UNDP/ WRI GCF Readiness Programme.  Through an inclusive process, the NDA’s Technical Committee screened climate investment ideas, in line with Nepal’s NDC and development strategies to prioritize ...
MORE
Responding to drought: Kenya prepares a strategic approach to access GCF finance
 
Kenya is particularly vulnerable to extreme weather – between 2008-2011, a devastating drought ravaged East Africa, affecting the north of Kenya, and causing a famine in neighbouring Somalia. In late 2016, a drought was declared again in northern Kenya, leaving millions facing extreme hunger. Demonstrating its ability to adapt to changing contexts, the National Designated Authority (NDA), the National Treasury, called upon multiple Kenyan stakeholders employing various, complex, and divergent responses to the drought ...

MORE 
Building a more climate-resilient future: Prioritising climate actions and finance in the Philippines
 
While a country’s aspirations on climate action may be ambitious and far-reaching, a key step in turning these ideas into concrete activities is a prioritisation process, which assesses a country’s most urgent climate-related needs; its existing capacity to deliver, manage and monitor projects; as well as the ability of its existing financial architecture to fund climate change adaptation and mitigation efforts.
MORE
Climate-Smart Investments in El Salvador
 
The leading economic activity in El Salvador is small and medium scale agriculture, which makes the country vulnerable to the effects of climate change. In the past 40 years, the country has seen steadily increasing rates of heavy rainfall and flooding, a trend recently broken by a four-year drought (2012 – 2016), which wreaked havoc on the agriculture industry and the small and medium agricultural producers that characterize the economy.
UN Environment/UNDP/WRI Green Climate Fund Readiness Programme
www.gcfreadinessprogramme.org
For more information on this newsletter contact:

National Coordinators:
Nepal Pragyajan Y Rai: pyrai@mof.gov.np
El Salvador Carlos Gomez: carlos.gomez@undp.org
Colombia Catalina Quintero Pinzon: dcquintero2016@gmail.com 
Ghana Ayirebi Frimpong: ayirebi.frimpong@undp.org
Benin Marius Gandonou: gandonoumarius@yahoo.fr 
Uzbekistan Ulugbek Dedabaev: ulugbek.dedabaev@undp.org
Kenya Fatuma Hussein: famzahra80@gmail.com 
Philippines Floradema Eleazar: floradema.eleazar@undp.org
Fiji Velavela Serukalou velavela.serukalou@undp.org
and Talei Elaisa talei.elaisa@undp.org

Coordination Team
UN Environment 
Jonathan Duwyn: Jonathan.Duwyn@unep.org
UNDP Claudia Ortiz: claudia.ortiz@undp.org
Media Aimee Brown: aimee.brown@undp.org

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

 






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
GCF Readiness Programme · New York · New York, New York 11101 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp