The Newmarket Eagles
Cycling Club



McCowan Road  ITT - September 12, 2020

On Saturday the Eagles concluded the Time Trial series at the McCowan course. The temperature was quite cool at the start of Heat 1. It was around 9C, but a strong south wind blew in which raised the temperature to a more comfortable level. However the wind gusted at times which made conditions difficult to achieve a personal best time. 7 riders took part in Heat 1. Zak 'The Attack' Jackson was the fastest rider today and consolidated his position as the fastest Time Trialist. Today Andrew Darke presented medals for the best Time Trial Performances at the TT. Zak received 2 Champion Medals for his rides at both the 15 km and 40 km ITT Club Championship held last week at Kennedy Road. Zak had a great TT season with the Eagles, and he is going to get faster. Peter Henry was second and JD Powers came in third place. Paul Belfry was the fastest Road Bike rider with a time of 24:21.0. He edged out Dan Lundenberg who came in at 24:29.9. Paul also was presented with a Champion Medal for the fastest Road Bike rider at the 40 km Road Bike Championship. In the women's category, Yasmin was first at 27:30.3, and Sheryl Potter who was caught in the wind was second at 32:08.8.

Heat 2 had 14 participants. The wind was still quite strong with intermittent gusts. Dave Pierce finished first with a time of 23:03, followed by Bill Ross in second place and Alex Corry in third. The results are posted below. Bill Ross was presented with the 20 km Champion medal for his excellent ride on his TT bike at the Club Championship. Steve Quenneville was not present and missed out on receiving his Champion medal for the fastest Road Bike rider at the Championship. Too bad Steve!

Thanks to our volunteers: Adrian Jackson at the turn around for Heat 1, Iain Allen at the turn for Heat 2, Victor Tolgyessy and Mike Grimes time keepers for Heat 2, with Lisa Zalewsky as spotter for Heat 2.

This concludes the TT series for 2020. The start of the season was delayed by Covid, but our events were well attended and participation grew. New riders to time trialing came out, and I am certain they caught the TT Fever and will return next year.  It's my opinion that this format with holding the TT on Saturday, the 2 Heats, and the fastest riders going first has increased participation and I would like to stay with it. However next year we could do some Tuesday night TTs as some riders have difficulty making it out on Saturdays. Lastly a big shout out to our volunteers whose support made the Time Trials happen. Also a big shout out to Victor for his Time Keeping services. As a bonus I was able to ride the TTs on a regular basis.

Yours in Time Trialing,

Bob Spencer

McCowan Road Heat 1  Sept 12, 2020
Pl Bib Name Category Time
1 1 Zak Jackson TT bike 21:49.5
2 3 Peter Henry TT bike 22:03.0
3 2 JD Power TT bike 22:37.1
4 5 Jan Jenson TT bike 24:16.7
5 4 Paul Belfry Road bike 24:21.0
6 6 Mark Hopper TT bike 24:38.0
7 7 Yasmin Jackson TT bike 27:30.3
- 8 Victor Tolgyessy Road bike DNS

McCowan Road - Heat 2 - Sept 12, 2020

Pl Bib Name Category Time
1 13 Dave Pierce TT bike 23:02.6
2 12 Bill Ross TT bike 23:23.9
3 11 Alex Corry TT bike 23:44.4
4 14 Dan Lundenberg Road bike 24:29.9
5 16 Alex Neyshtadt TT bike 24:54.4
6 15 Rick Zalewski TT bike 25:02.4
7 17 Luke Corry TT bike 25:37.0
8 20 Bob Spencer TT bike 27:44.7
9 19 Jeff Lau TT bike 27:48.2
10 18 Tony Peters TT bike 27:49.5
11 21 Gerry Mawsom Road bike 30:27.8
12 23 Gord Grimes Road bike 31:45.5
13 22 Sheryl Potter TT bike 32:08.8
14 24 Andrew Darke Road bike 33:13.0

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Newmarket Eagles Cycling Club · 778 Firth Court · Newmarket, Ontario L3Y8H8 · Canada

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp