The Newmarket Eagles
Cycling Club

Ride your bike, ride your bike, ride your bike.
                                                Fausto Coppi



McCowan Time Trial - Saturday August 22, 2020

Today 22 riders took part in today's Time Trial. The sun was shining, and the humidity made for a hot day. There were rain showers across the GTA which soaked Dan Lundenberg who rode to the TT to be a turnaround marshal. However we were in an oasis of sunny skies. Zak won the TT bike title with a personal best of 21:28.6 = 41.9 k/h average speed. Peter Henry was second at 21:47.0, and JD Power, who is becoming a TT powerhouse finished in third place with an excellent time of 22:06.9. Jan Jenson with his family looking on saw Jan come in fourth place with a quick 23:22.6. Yasmin was the fastest woman with a 26:39.1. In the Road Bike category Paul Belfry was the fastest at 24:20.7, Steve Quenneville was a close second at 24:23.6, despite having to fight the heat and stronger south winds that Heat 1 riders did not encounter, while Anthony Howard was third at 26:08.1. Thanks to our volunteers: Adrian Jackson, turnaround in Heat 1, Dan Lundenerg turnaround in Heat 2, Victor Tolgyessy timekeeper Heat 2, Jan Jenson, backup timer heat 2, and Bill Ross photographer. The results are posted below. Next week we return to the Pottageville course for the last time this year.

TT Riding Practices

There are a couple of points I need to raise after today's TT:
1- Riders were warming up or cooling down on the course during the two heats, and some were crossing the finish line during the event. Do not cross the finish line prior to the end of the Heat! If you are cooling down, do it off the course.

2- Re: Rider behaviour at the turnaround.
The marshal has no authority to direct any vehicles, they are there solely for the riders safety. The rules state that you must do a shoulder check prior to making the turnaround. If there are vehicles close behind, then you must wait until it is safe to do so. The turn marshal can order the riders to stop if the situation warrants it. You must follow their directions. Your time can be adjusted for any delays afterwords.

There are two cones on the course, the first cone is to advise you that you are approaching the turnaround, the second cone is the turnaround with the marshal present. If you are told to stop by the marshal, you must do so. This is not optional. I urge everyone to read the TT Riding Practices that are posted on the website, and make them a priority, especially shoulder checks.

Club Championship ITT - August 25- 6:30 PM- The Barrie Course

This Tuesday, at the Barrie course, the Eagles will be holding our club's championship. The start time is 6:30. The interval between riders will be 30", and there will not be any heats. We will be using helmet stickers for this TT. I will be in the parking lot handing out the numbers. Then we will head south to the start line.  Pre-registration is required

It's the best course I've ever ridden on, and I recommend that you give it a try. It is a flat meandering tree lined course with smooth pavement. The course is on Ingram Road in Oro-Medonte. The directions are to take the 400 north to the Pentanguishene Road East, also known as Hwy #93. Ingram Road runs south- north parallel to Hwy 400. It is east of the Highway ramps on #93, and it intersects # 93 on the north side. Parking is on the east side of Ingram at the Copeland Forest P2 parking lot, this is a few kilometers north of #93. This lot is just north of the intersection of a road called Line 4N. There is a tree lined driveway to the parking lot. The link to Google Maps is:

Hill Climbs - The Bathurst Hill

Due to popular demand, I am provisionally scheduling 3 hill climbs on the Bathurst Hill on the following Tuesday evenings: September 1, 8, and 15.  The start time will be 6:30, and the rider interval will be 1 minute. I have asked permission from the King Christian School to use their parking lot. If we get their permission, then we have to get OCA approval. Stay tuned for more details.


Bob Spencer


McCowan ITT Heat 1 - Aug 22, 2020

Pl Bib Name Category Time
1 1 Zak Jackson TT bike 21:28.6
2 2 Peter Henry TT bike 21:47.0
3 3 JD Power TT bike 22:06.9
4 4 Jan Jenson TT bike 23:22.6
5 6 Alex Neyshtadt TT bike 24:18.4
6 7 Paul Belfry Road bike 24:20.7
7 5 Mark Hopper TT bike 24:31.5
8 8 Iain Allen Road bike 26:21.6
9 9 Yasmin Jackson TT bike 26:39.1
10 10 Victor Tolgyessy Road bike 29:41.7

McCowan 15K ITT HEAT 2 - 2020-08-22

Pl Bib Name Category Time
1 22 David Pierce TT Bike 22:37.8
2 21 Alex Corry TT Bike 23:27.2
3 23 Steve Quenneville Road Bike 24:23.6
4 26 Luke Corry TT Bike 24:40.3
5 25 Richard Hall TT Bike 25:27.1
6 27 Elmore Brenton TT Bike 26:06.1
7 24 Anthony Howard Road Bike 26:08.1
8 28 Tony Peters TT Bike 26:29.2
9 29 Bob Spencer TT Bike 28:18.4
10 30 Gerry Mawson TT Bike 29:57.3
11 32 Gord Grimes Road Bike 31:32.4
12 31 Andrew Darke Road Bike 32:25.1

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Newmarket Eagles Cycling Club · 778 Firth Court · Newmarket, Ontario L3Y8H8 · Canada

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp