The Newmarket Eagles
Cycling Club


“If you go you can either win or not win. If you don’t go for it, you definitely won’t win” – Jens Voigt

The 2021 Newmarket Eagles 20/40 km ITT Championship – August 28

The Championship was well attended with 17 riders taking part in the competition. The day started out overcast with no wind. The sun gradually made its appearance by the second lap and it was accompanied by a south wind. The traffic was heavier than what is typically found on a Saturday. Large groups of cyclists were heading south; it must have been a charity ride. Then at the Rice Group yard there was a steady stream of dump trucks entering and exiting the yard. The roadway was badly chewed up and covered with loose gravel. Nevertheless our riders made it safely through the obstacles and produced very good times.
Zak Jackson won the 40km title by going under the hour with a time of 57:59,9. Bill Ross was second, and Mark Hopper was third. Bill had closed in on Mark on the first lap, and after that Mark kept Bill from passing him on the second lap. Sadly, a distracted motorist squeezed Andrew Edge onto the shoulder. Both of Andrew’s tires flatted, but fortunately he remained upright and suffered no injury. Andrew’s 20 km time was close to Zak’s, it would have been interesting to see what Andrew could have done.

In the 20 km Category, Kevin Higgins was the Champion with a time of 27:49.1, closely followed by Peter Henry who was 7.4 seconds adrift, while JD Power was third. Paolina Allan was the fastest lady, Yasmin was the fastest junior, and Dan Horchik was the fastest Road Bike rider. The results are below.  Next Saturday the TT will be at McCowan. A volunteer for the turn around is required.
Lastly a big thank you to Andrew Darke who worked at the turn around, and took the split times. From Andrew’s split times I was able to create a file with all the 10 km split times, but is too large to place on Mail Chimp, so I will email the file to the racers.
    20 km - Overall          
Place Bib Name Category Time     Difference
1 1 Kevin Higgins TT bike 27:49.1     -
2 3 Peter Henry TT bike 27:56.5     +0:07.4
3 4 JD Power TT bike 28:28.6     +0:39.5
4 6 Andrew Szafranski TT bike 28:51.7     +1:02.6
5 7 Paolina Allan TT bike 28:55.1     +1:06.0
6 10 Dan Lundenberg TT bike 30:43.8     +2:54.7
7 11 Alex Corry TT bike 31:07.1     +3:18.0
8 13 Steve Quenneville TT bike 31:22.8     +3:33.7
9 12 Dan Horchik Road bike 32:05.0     +4:15.9
10 14 Yasmin Jackson TT bike 32:40.2     +4:51.1
11 15 Tony Peters TT bike 34:36.8     +6:47.7
12 16 Gerry Mawson TT bike 39:21.5     +11:32.4
13 17 Gord Grimes Road bike 40:22.4     +12:33.3
    40 km - Overall          
Place Bib Name Category Time   Lap 1   Lap 2 Difference
1 2 Zak Jackson TT bike 57:59.9   28:43.8   29:16.0 -
2 9 Bill Ross TT bike 1:01:19.8   30:07.9   31:11.8 +3:19.9
3 8 Mark Hopper TT bike 1:02:17.9   30:58.9   31:19.0 +4:18.0
- 5 Andrew Edge TT bike DNF   28:49.4   DNF -

Yours in Time Trialing,
Bob Spencer

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Newmarket Eagles Cycling Club · 35 Mathewson Ave · Bradford, Ontario L3Z 0P3 · Canada

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp