Copy
View this email in your browser
July 2016
 
Weekend Sailing Report
(25th-26th June)

Not very pleasant sailing conditions over the weekend with heavy rain, poor visibility and a gusting F5 South Westerly that dropped to F1 during the second race on Saturday afternoon. Although only two One-Designs raced on Saturday and none on Sunday, it was good to see six Redwings out on Saturday & three on Sunday.  In the first race on Saturday, Bruce Huber in Redstart II took an early lead with Nick Wakefield in No 35 Bizarre holding onto second; Charles Nainby-Luxmoore helming the family Redwing Snow Goose was third in the difficult conditions with visibility at times down to quarter of a mile. Fortunately everyone found Ruthven safely and was able to keep in sight of land on the beat back to the line. In the One-Designs, James Row helming No 8 came in first ahead of No 3 helmed by James Palmer... Click here to see the full report.

July-August Racing Programme
Click here to see the racing programme for July and August.
BSC Membership Card/Lanyard
A reminder that all Members will need to have their Membership Cards, Cash or Debit Card with them when purchasing anything in the Club.
If you have lost your Membership Card, you can pick up a replacement from the Club Office for £2.50.

Cadets – Please remember you will need your Cadet Membership Card this summer as you will not be able to buy drinks and food without it in the office.

Please note Cadets cannot use their parents card to purchase anything, and adults will not be able to use Cadet cards to purchase drinks in the bar.

If you have turned 18 and do not have an adult Membership Card, please come to the office to update it - you will need to bring photographic ID as proof of age, and have your photograph take in the office.  


For all Members aged over 18, please can you pop in to the office so that we can check if we have your photograph on record, and take it if necessary. This is very important to make sure that we comply with the licensing laws.
 
June at BSC
Members headed over to Itchenor for the weekend of 11th&12th June Five Redwings & four One-Designs made it to Itchenor and back over the weekend in very mixed conditions. The passage race on Saturday morning never happened because of the lack of wind however the Redwings hitched a tow with the BSC Commodore behind his yacht Sea Fever while the Club Committee Boat, Sea Breeze towed the One-Designs. Plans to let them sail part of the way were binned when it was clear that there was no chance of them making Itchenor by lunchtime under sail... Click here to see the full report. Itchenor Sailing Club Members then came and joined use here for Sunday Lunch, a most enjoyable weekend was had by all.
Becky Samuelson Pen & Wash Workshop
17th June in the Club Bar
7 ladies enjoyed a wonderful painting session with Becky Samuelson's guidance, and produced some wonderful masterpieces despite the somewhat inclement weather. 
Reminders
Saturday 29th July is the Salamander Ball!
Tickets are selling fast and we have now passed the early bird deadline. there are still a few tickets remaining, so do book soon to avoid disappointment.

There will be a Simulated Shoot Day on Monday 15th August, at Kern Farm in Alverstone. Click here to register your interest.

Ball tickets are all but sold out! There are a handful of dinner tickets left, but plenty of after dinner tickets available. Click here for the booking form.


Scow Week 1st-4th August
Please sign up with the Club by clicking here to let us know which events you will be attending. The price is £60 for the week or £20 per day which includes all the organisation and refreshments but excludes the supper and lobster lunch.  We’d love you to sign up for the whole week but you can also join us on a daily basis if you want. 
Cadet Events
Salamander Ball Tickets Selling Fast!
Last few tickets remaining! the deadline for early bird tickets has now passed, and there are only a handful of tickets left Click here to book in.
Cadet BBQ - 18th July
Kick off this summer and Cadet Week 1 and catch up with all the other Cadets, siblings and families with the Cadet BBQ on Monday 18 July from 5.30pm to 7.30pm in front of Solent Landing and Silver Beach. Small children will eat immediately with fun and games from 5.45pm. Cadets attending Cadet Week 1 will go free with siblings not attending Cadet Week 1 paying £8.00. Parent welcome to attend as long as they behave! CLICK HERE to book
July- August Events Programme
Click the links below (in blue) to book in.
              
Mon 4 Jul Rummikub and Scrabble
Fri 8 -Sun 10 Jul Swallow Nationals
Sat 9 Jul Club Supper
Sat 16 -Sun 17 Jul J70 Weekend
Sat 16 Jul J70 - Club Supper and Disco
Mon 18 July Cadet Week 1 BBQ
Fri 22 Jul Disco and Family Supper
Sat 23 Jul Village Regatta & Cream Tea/Club Annual Supper & Disco
Sun 24 Jul Whitecliff Bay Tea
Tue 26 Jul Disco (under 13s) and Family Supper
Fri 29 Jul Salamander Ball
Sat 30 Jul Scow Parade
Sun 31 Jul New Members Drinks
Wed 3 Aug Talent show 6pm
Fri 5 Aug Disco & Family Supper
Mon 8 Aug Intermediate Racing
(8th-12th)
Wed 10 Aug Redwing Cocktail Party
Thurs 11 Aug Cadet Tennis Tournament & Disco & Family Supper
GUSTO (11th-12th)
Sat 13 Aug Club Ball
Sun 14 Aug Club AGM
Mon 15 Aug Simulated Shoot Day
Thurs 18 Aug BODA Cocktail Party
Fri 19 Aug BSC Regatta Party & Disco
Sat 20 Aug Club Cruise in Mallorca (20th-27th)
Maraquita Film Night
Sun 21 Aug SVYC Regatta (21st-22nd)
Shrimps Week (22nd-25th)
Thurs 25 Aug Shrimps Dinner
Sat 27 Aug Redwing Dinner
Sun 28 Aug BODA AGM
BODA Dinner
Mon 29 Aug Bank Holiday
St Helens Sports & Carnival
Scow Programme
Tue 19-Jul 10am Sail in Company 
Thu 21-Jul 12pm Sail in Company 
Sat 23-Jul Village Regatta  
Sun 24-Jul Whitecliff Bay Tea  
Mon 25-Jul Race Week 1  
Tue 26-Jul Race 15.3 Sail in Company
Wed 27-Jul Race  
Thu 28-Jul Race 5pm Sail in Company
Fri 29-Jul Race  
Sat 30-Jul 18.30 Scow Parade
Mon 01-Aug Scow Week  
Tue 02-Aug Scow Week  
Wed 03-Aug Scow Week  
Thu 04-Aug Scow Week  
Sat 06-Aug Scow Race (EWCC) 
Sun 07-Aug Scow Champs  
Mon 08-Aug Race Week 2  
Tue 09-Aug Race 15.30 Sail in Company
Wed 10-Aug Race  
Thu 11-Aug Race 5pm Sail in Company
Fri 12-Aug Race  
Tue 16-Aug 10am Sail in Company 
Thu 18-Aug 12pm Sail in Company 
Fri 19-Aug Race (BSC regatta)  
Sat 20-Aug Race (BSC regatta)  
Tue 23-Aug 3pm Sail in Company 
Thu 25-Aug 4pm Sail in Company and drinks
Summer Opening Hours
15th July - 29th August
 
Day Bar Catering
Mon 09:00 – 21:00 Bar Menu
12:30 – 14:30
Tue 09:00 – 21:00 Bar Menu
12:30 – 14:30
Wed 09:00 -21:00 Bar Menu
12:30 – 14:30
Thu 09:00 – 21:00 Bar Menu
12:30 – 14:30
Fri 09:00 – 22:00 Bar Menu
12:30 – 14:30
18:30 – 20:30
Sat 09:00 – 21:00 Bar Menu
12:30 – 14:30
Sun 09:00 – 16:30 Bar Menu
12:30 – 14:30
Sunday Buffet
13:00– 14:30
Trophies
A reminder that all the trophies that Members are holding from last year, can they please make sure that they engrave them and give them back to the Club Office as soon as possible.
Newly Elected Members

Full Members:
Rodney Carritt
Mrs Lucinda Chiesman
Bill Alexander
Tanya Robertson

Junior Cadet Members:

Amelia Norris
Eesha Alexander
Catherine Boyle
Amendments to the Blue Book
 
Name Change
The Hon MJ Vaughan ellier@vaughandesigns.com
Joanna Mitchell jlmitch@btopenworld.com
Hattie Mitchell 03hattiemitch@gmail.com
Edward & Charlotte Peel 50 Wincanton Road,
London, SW18 5TY    
(after 22 July)
J70 weekend 16 - 17 July - PHOTO Competition
 
Please submit your best  digital  photo to the BSC office by 24 July.  Members sailing in the  J 70 weekend will be asked to determine by online vote which photo should  be awarded a bottle of Champagne and the photo will be displayed with a credit in the next PORTHOLE and in the Club.
Friday Night Supper
 
If you are on the 19:30 Portsmouth/Fishbourne Car Ferry, phone the Club with your supper order and it will be ready for when you arrive.

Sunday Summer Buffet
July is the start of the summer buffet.
Please remember to book by Friday evening 10pm to ensure you have a table.
 
In Memoriam
Santa Raymond sadly died at her home in France on 12th June
Host an Event at the Club
Thinking of having a business meeting or hosting a corporate event?
Bring them to the Bembridge Sailing Club! There is plenty of space; and facilities include projector, screen, PA system and staff on hand to serve tea and coffee throughout. Email Laura to discuss the possibilities.
The Victory Class visiting Bembridge 
Powerboat Instructor Course
5th,  6th,  7th  July.
Please click here to email the Club and request further information if you
are interested in this course.
Parish News
Summer Beach Clean Up
Saturday 9th July – 10:00
 Start on the beach at
: Beach Road, Ducie Avenue, Swains Lane or Lane End Road and a happy helper will be there to provide bags etc. and make your way towards The Point for tea/coffee.
New Website!
The new Bembridge Sailing Club website has now gone live!
Many Members have been navigating the new website and are benefiting from all of the great new features it offers. Click here for the new site.
We have had  some feedback that the log in process is confusing as it asks for a Membership Number when you log in. Please note that this is not the number you may have previously quoted at the bar. It is a combination of 5 letters followed by two numbers; this code was detailed in your email as "Username".
The website will be tweaked over the coming months, and we will do our best to take all of your suggestion into account.
Life Jacket Servicing
If you have a life jacket which needs servicing, drop it into the office, and we will send it off to be serviced for you. Email the office for more information.
Scow Sailors
We have been invited to participate in a Team Racing competition against Lymington on 10 September this year. Please let us know if you would like to compete, we already have the beginnings of a team. For those unfamiliar with the rules of team racing we are hoping to arrange a short teaching session this summer.
The Round the Island Race
went ahead on Saturday 2nd July under very blustery conditions. A great view could be seen from the Club of all the boats passing the forts in the Channel.
Congratulations and Thanks
To Mark Downer and family for representing BSC at the 60th Anniversary of the Prince Philip Cup on Saturday 11th June at Sea View YC where they competed in Mermaids.
Dinghy Park Change
When you are next in the Club, you will notice that the Dinghy Park has had a move around and is much tidier.  If you are having trouble locating your boat there is a map on the downstairs noticeboard and also in the Club office.
Adult Keelboat Training
Following last year's successful adult keelboat training, it is being run again this season 9-10 August.
If you would like to attend CLICK HERE to book so that we can arrange boats. Spaces are limited.
The Battle of the Somme illustrated Talk
By Rhydian Vaughan and Supper held afterwards on Saturday 2nd July was enjoyed by all Members that attended. The Dining Room was in keeping with the theme of the night.
Summer Events Calendar
Keep your eyes peeled for a summer events calendar mailing which will let you know  everything that's happening in the Club throughout the summer.
Guest Sign In
Please can we remind all Members that they must sign in guests and no guest can be signed in for more than 3 times between July and August.
Under 30s Invitation To Helm a Redwing - 31st July
 
 The Redwing Club invites any BSC Member who is under 30 and would like to helm a Redwing to take part in the Chetwood Cup on Sunday 31st July. If you are interested please contact Joe Robertson by email at the latest Sunday 24th July.
Click onto the email address
jrobertson2006@hotmail.co.uk


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp