February 16, 2021
The Official Newsletter for the Association to Preserve the Eatonville Community, Inc. (P.E.C.)
P.E.C. Hosts Community Conversations 
Featuring Isabel Wilkerson Grant Cornwell, Ph.D.
This virtual event is Free and Open to the Public
Community Conversation featuring Pulitzer Prize and National Humanities Medal winner Isabel Wilkerson & Rollins College President Grant Cornwell, Ph.D. is the second of a three-part series of virtual Community Conversations on Race and Economic Realities in 21st Century America.

Wilkerson is author of the critically acclaimed New York Times Bestseller, The Warmth of Other Suns, that tells the story of The Great Migration, the mass movement of African Americans from the South to the North, Midwest, and West. Her most recent release Caste, The Origins of Our  Discontent, explores, through layered analysis and stories of real people, the structure of an unspoken system of human ranking and reveals how our lives are still restricted by what divided us centuries ago. 

Cornwell is recognized for his work in defining liberal learning in a global environment and writes regularly about democracy, diversity, and global citizenship.

The conversation is being moderated by award-winning journalist, Renata Sago whose work explores the intersection of race, class, and politics, as well as the role that art plays in expressions of African diasporic identity.

Additional funding for this event is provided by the Florida Humanities Council, the Historic Black Towns and Settlements Alliance, the Florida Historical Society, the Central Florida Association of Black Journalists, and the Town of Eatonville - Community Revitalization Agency. 
The Association to Preserve the Eatonville Community, Inc. (P.E.C.) is a historic preservation/cultural arts/community revitalization organization, which was established in 1987 and incorporated by the State of Florida in 1988.  P.E.C. has 501 (c) 3 status as determined by the Internal Revenue Service. Our FEIN is 59-2952662.
COVID-19-related funding to the Association to Preserve the Eatonville Community, Inc. (P.E.C.)  provided by:
Florida Humanities Council, State of Florida, Division of Cultural Affairs, and United Arts of Central Florida

We are governed by a Board of Directors, whose members are:
Winfred Chad McKendrick, President
Tadayuki (Tad) Hara, Ph.D., Vice President
Joshua Smith-Benson, PharmD., Treasurer
Rasheeda Garricks, MBA, Secretary
Marie-José François, MD, Immediate Past President
John W. Beacham
Ava K. Doppelt, Esq.
Harietta Finley White
Thomas S. Kornegay
Reginald Lewis
Reginald B. McGill
Jenneil Ross
Copyright © 2021 Association to Preserve the Eatonville Community, Inc. (P.E.C.), All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can
update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp