View this email in your browser
Shri Garuda as depicted in Indonesia

Dear Reader

Thursday May 23 2019

A newsletter by Visti Larsen, the founder of
Guide and Guru: Pt. Sanjay Rath
This email is a result of many student requests.
When we begin learning astrology we focus on the topic of transits. This is a natural progression of learning to time events, however, my teacher had us focus on daśās analysis. In hindsight, this makes more sense than examining transits given the more temporary phase of the same planetary orbits, e.g. Saturn's transit is at most 2½ years long compared to its 19 years of daśā.

Nevertheless, being human, we do want to shape our expectations of the near-most future, and transits are potentially the most uncomplicated means to do so.

Do read further below.

Don't miss out!

RAMA courses are increasing their prices in June from EUR 21 to EUR 30 for individual courses, and EUR 210 to EUR 300 for bundles. Don't miss the current discount phase!

RAMA Courses

Really reading the Moon

The first and most important lesson on transits and how to read them is: 'what should be your reference point?'. Without this the transit analysis is not going to work, and the results will be vague and whimsical at best.
e.g. Sade Sathi works, but not from the Moon's Rāśi... but from its Navāṁśa! Whilst all the astrologers in the market highlight this important 7½ year event, doing so from the Moon's Rāśi/D-1 placement will not provide the results one expects unless one reckons this from the Moon's Navāṁśa position.

Make it easy for yourself >> whenever you read the tables of results for each Moon sign, do not reckon them from your Moon in Rāśi (D-1), but find that Moon-sign in Navāṁśā (D-9) and reckon from there.
e.g. My Moon is in Virgo Rāśi and Aquarius Navāṁśa. With Saturn transiting Sagittarius at present I should be experiencing Kanṭaka Śani from Virgo and should perform Rudra Puja to overcome this. However, from Aquarius, Saturn in Sagittarius is Labha-Śani and gives excellent results and wealth. Yes! the last ~2 years of Saturn's transit has been among the most successful for me!

This traditional secret of applying the Moon's D-9 instead of D1 is repeated in the Chandra Kala Nadi as well. This is because our fortune depends on the Navāṁśa, so which better place to judge fortune than from Moon's D-9 placement?

Transits you should know (from Moon in D-9 or any relevant divisional chart):
  • All transits in the 11th from Moon are auspicious.
  • Saturn transiting the 3rd, 6th and 11th from Moon is auspicious. The other transits of Saturn are not auspicious. The same applies to the transit of Rāhu.
  • Jupiter transiting the 2nd, 7th, 5th or 9th are auspicious >> memory aid: Māraka (2/7) and Kona (5/9). Other transits of Jupiter are not auspicious. Don't forget that 11th is always auspicious!
  • The Sun's results are similar to Saturn and Rāhu, viz. auspicious in 3rd, 6th and 11th, but also 10th >> memory aid: Upachaya (3,6,10,11) are auspicious, the rest are not.
Have you checked your chart and reckoned the results?
Do also read my previous newsletter on the topic of transits here: Learn Traditional Vedic Astrology.
Also check out my latest writeup on the ayanamsha I use and why: Ayanamsha article
Hope you liked this newsletter. Here's looking forward to providing you many more!
Sincerely and with a love of astrology,

Visti Larsen

@ Shri Garuda

Vedic Astrologer, Scholar, Guru and Pandit
www: |

Get my Book: Jyotish Fundamentals at

Like what you read?

Feel free to share with others

Wanto read the previous newsletters? See our archive: [link]

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Shri Garuda · Klausdalsbrovej · Søborg 2860 · Denmark

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp